Top 5 US National Parks

What caught me up about the US are not its glamorous cities. Neither vibrantly bubbling New York nor charming Chicago (even though I love both — and their skylines in particular as I have already told). It’s not Sunshine Florida and it’s not dreamingly sweet California. It is not a Chipotle burrito, a Jamba Juice smoothie, or a bar of Hershey’s cookie n cream chocolate.What really makes me want to come back again and again are the national parks. 59 national parks capture and protect unique pieces of earth. Out of this list, I have only visited 16. Yet, I desire to see more. To eventually see all of them. In this post, I would like to share my Top 5 national parks so far and the different experiences they contain.

Top 1) Yellowstone National Park (Wyoming)

Yellowstone is famous for its geysers and its hydrothermal system, centered over a huge caldera. I had seen  pictures of the picturesque crystal blue lakes with bright yellow sulfur and red-brown iron oxide fringes before. I had expected to see marvelous geyser outbursts and steaming thermal springs. But I didn’t expect to meet the distinctive and unprecedented wildlife of the park. Bison, grizzlies, deer, elks, moose… and many more. The Yellowstone Park bison herd is the largest public herd of American bison in the United States. And astonishing and scary at the same time. A running bison at night will not stop when crossing your road. Pray to god that quantum physics hold and increasing speed reduces the chance of getting hit in your car. A curious bison will also not stop while you are preparing your camping meal at a parking lot and will make you run and hide, believe me (and make you hope some of your food will be left over). Meeting wildlife on literally every foot step you take has impressed me the most about this park. It is beautiful to hike there, to go camping, to shoot photos, or to simply relax.

usa_best_of_ (39)
Yellowstone National Park
usa_best_of_ (37)
Yellowstone National Park

usa_best_of_ (33)

 

Top 2) Arches National Park (Utah)

Arches National Park is located up on a small plateau, in close proximity to the Colorado River. Embraced by the desert heat of Utah, it offers breath-taking views of stone arches, framed with snow-covered rocky mountains in the background. I love to hike there. In particular, the Devil’s Garden trail is my absolute favourite. Having come here a second time, it has not lost any of its fascination. And I prefer the Devil’s Garden over the actual Delicate Arch — the cherished symbol of Utah and part of official Utah license plates.

 

Top 3) Mesa Verde National Park (Colorado)

I put Mesa Verde on this list, not because it has the most stunning nature. Nor because it has particular views, or flora, or wildlife (in fact, I believe, I saw not a single animal). I put it on this list, because I appreciate the history it represents. Mesa Verde protects some of the best preserved Ancestral Puebloan archeological sites. Climbing down the (now available) ladders attached to the steep canyon wall to reach the Pueblo-Indian cliff dwellings really makes you question: How on earth could you ever have managed without the ladders? In particular, after a long and tiring hunt, you have to get back in there somehow?!

Travelling around the US, you will find many road signs to “historic” places. “Historic” city centers. “Historic” sights. “Historic” roads. Being European (and please excuse my directness), I found most “historic” labels pretty ridiculous. The US is a relatively young nation and, compared to Europe, many things are “historic” only on a very different scale. But again compared to Europe, it also reveals positive aspects in turn, that are (at least partly) related to being a young nation as well: Skylines, for example, that do not have to bother with overreaching the height of historic church towers, but that can be built for the beauty of architecture itself.

Mesa Verde, however, is historic, even on a European scale. And that’s why I consider it to be well-worth a visit.

usa_best_of_ (92)
Mesa Verde National Park

DSC_0152

Top 4): Sequoia National Park (California)

Okay, to be honest. I have not seen much of this park. I barely made it past the entrance till we got thrown out again. It was still snowing heavily in the Sierras in March and our RV did not have snow chains. And the park rangers were pretty without humor on that topic. So, back we went. And out. Yet, I love the ONE picture I took. These trees are just… so.. yes… HUGE! And they make you feel so small.

DSC_0948
Sequioa National Park

 

Top 5) Death Valley (California/Nevada)

The call for No. 5 was a tough one. I decided for Death Valley because there is simply nothing there but plain desert. And it really challenges you to get through. At the end of March, the heat is already unbearable. You start thinking about having enough water all the time cautiously. Same with gas. Also you should drive cautiously because your brakes will not like the heat either (something I figured out only when it was too late).  Death Valley is really just worth the experience!

DSC_0776
Death Valley (Unedited)

 

Leave a comment